PDF version

The Department of Private Law has a concentration of highly qualified academic staff whose expertise spans a wide range of areas.  There are currently twenty-one academic staff members, one secretary and one office assistant/cleaner.  Dr. Winifred Kamau was appointed as Chair of the Department in May 2014.
Of the academic staff, there are two Full Professors, namely Prof. Patricia Kameri-Mbote who is the Dean of the School of Law, and Prof. Francis D.P. Situma who is the outgoing Chair of the Department.  There is one Associate Professor, namely Prof. Edwin O. Abuya who is the Chair of the Post-Graduate Programme.
The Senior Lecturers in the Department are Dr. Winifred Kamau, Dr. Jacob Gakeri and Dr. Godfrey M. Musila.  The Lecturers include Dr. Agnes K. Meroka, Mr. Richard Kariuki, Mr. Stephen Ouma, Ms Mercy M. Deche, Mr. Paul W. Ndegwa, Mr. Ronald G. Rogo, Ms Naomi N. Njuguna, Mr. Leonard O. Aloo, Mr. Rodney Okoth-Ogendo. Mr. Samson O. Alosa, Mr. Paul M. Munyao, Mr. Nishit D. Maru, Ms Jane E. N. Murungi and Ms Annette M. Mbogoh,
Several of the members of Department have rendered distinguished service in the public sector. Prof. Patricia Kameri-Mbote is a Senior Counsel and an internationally renowned legal researcher and scholar.  She has been involved in a number of National Policy formulation processes such as Land Policy, Biotechnology and Wildlife and sits on a number of boards. She currently chairs the Kenya School of Law Board. Prof. Situma has served with the National Environmental Management Service (NEMA) as a Director of Legal Services.  Prof. Albert Mumma is a member of The National Environmental Tribunal while Dr. Kamau served as Assistant Director (Continuing Professional Development, Projects & Research) at the Kenya School of Law.
Members currently on study leave include Mr. Edwin Bikundo who is pursuing his doctoral studies at the University of Sydney, Australia and Ms Constance Gikonyo also pursuing her PhD.  Mr. Eric K.O. Ogola is on leave of absence after being appointed a Judge of the High Court.
As the host of the Research and Publications Committee of the School, the Department is charged with the responsibility of publishing the East African Law Journal and facilitating the students’ publication of the University of Nairobi Law Journal.  The Editorial Board is in the process of finalizing the 2014 edition of the East African Law Journal.
The Department currently has one senior secretary, Ms Catherine Kamau and one office assistant, Ms Naomi Mutunga.
 For further information, please contact Ms Catherine Kamau on Tel: 340856/8/9 Ex. 131; 020 2076119, email: or Dr. Winifred Kamau (email: